2008-05-01 / Front Page

Where, when to vote

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. next Tuesday.

In the Houghton Lake Community Schools district, residents of Backus, Nester and the south half of Richfield Township will cast their ballots at the Backus Township Hall; residents of Denton, Lake and Markey Townships at their respective township halls; and residents of Roscommon Township and the Missaukee County portion of the district at the Roscommon Township Hall.

In the Gerrish-Higgins School District, polling places are the Richfield Township Hall for residents of Au Sable and the north half of Richfield Township; the Higgins Township Hall for residents

of Higgins Township and the Crawford County portion of the district; and the Gerrish and Lyon Township Halls, respectively, for residents of those townships.

Voters will be asked to present photo identification, such as a Michigan driver's license or ID card, at the polls. Voters who do not have those documents can show a driver's license or ID card from another state, a U.S. passport, military photo ID card, high school or college ID card or tribal photo ID card. Voters who do not have an acceptable form of identification with them may sign a form stating they are not in possession of photo identification.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2008-05-01 digital edition


What represents the first sign of spring for you?